



The Faculty of science was established in 1976, coinciding with the establishment of the University, the first faculty at the university, due to the University's early recognition of the importance of introducing education on how the natural environments function in general, and in particular how to enable the human element to manage its behavior and the ecosystem; with the aim of living in a sustainable way. Currently, the faculty includes six departments are: (Mathematics, physics, chemistry, statistics, life sciences, earth and Environmental Sciences). Two of the departments offer bachelor's and master's degrees in (Earth and Environmental Sciences, Life Sciences).

1- Earth and Environmental Sciences department:

The department of Earth and Environmental Sciences was founded in 1981 in response to the growing demands for professional geologists and increasing environmental concern. Ever since, the department was committed to providing unique programs and high-quality education and research opportunities in geoand environmental sciences, with our graduates becoming leaders in both academia and industry.

The department facilitates interdisciplinary research and teaching in physics, geosciences, GIS, environmental environmental chemistry, geoarcheology. In addition to offering a bachelor degree in geology, the department also provides an opportunity for students majoring in other fields to combine their expertise with geology and environmental sciences, through two minor programs (in geology and in environmental sciences). Also, the department is currently running two graduate programs (M.Sc.), one in Geology and another in Environmental sciences. The department is keen to link theoretical knowledge with practical aspects by offering summer geology field course and applied research work.

- <u>https://science.yu.edu.jo/index.php/earth-about-en</u>
- https://science.yu.edu.jo/index.php/earth-master-en
- https://science.yu.edu.jo/index.php/program-learning-outcomes
- https://science.yu.edu.jo/index.php/earth-images-2
- https://science.yu.edu.jo/index.php/departments-en/earth-dept





2- Life Sciences department:

The Department of Biological Sciences was establishment in the year 1976, with the start of Yarmouk University. In the beginning, a B.Sc. degree was offered within the framework of a major program in Biology. Later, in 1982, M.Sc. degree program was introduced in the fields of biochemistry, genetics, microbiology, parasitology, botany, taxonomy, and molecular biology.

The first group of B.Sc. and M.Sc. students graduated in the years 1980 and 1982 respectively. Annually, about 100 to 120 students graduate from the B.Sc. program, while between 10 to 15 graduate at the M.Sc. level. Currently there are about 500 students enrolled at the undergraduate level and 50 at the graduate level. Since 1980, over 1200 students have received their degrees from the department with over 100 receiving a Master's degree.

- <u>https://science.yu.edu.jo/index.php/departments-en/bio-dept-en</u>
- <u>https://science.yu.edu.jo/index.php/bio-about-en</u>
- https://science.yu.edu.jo/index.php/study-plan-for-the-bachelor-s-degree
- <u>https://science.yu.edu.jo/index.php/bio-master-en</u>
 - **3-** In addition to the scientific service Courses section, which offers many courses related to sustainable development, environmental development and climate.

https://science.yu.edu.jo/index.php/departments-en/ssc-dept-en-2

https://science.yu.edu.jo/index.php/ssc-about-en

4- The University includes the Department of geography, which grants Bachelor's and master's degrees in geography, and Applied Geography, where the study plan includes specialized subjects on climate, resources and planning.

https://arts.yu.edu.jo/index.php/en/geography-about-en

https://arts.yu.edu.jo/index.php/geography-bsc-ar

fmd.yu.edu.jo/ExternalPlans.aspx?ProgId=1&FacId=7&DeptId=2059&MajorId=40&lang=ar

https://arts.yu.edu.jo/index.php/geography-master-ar